Champion System Passives

Champion Points

Champion System Passives are the individual bonuses which can be gained by spending Champion Points in the various Constellations of the Champion System. Champion Points are earned with normal XP after you reach Level 50 – so doing things like quests, fighting, crafting, exploring, reading books and so on.

You will earn Champion Points very quickly at first, but as you gather more and more CP it will take more and more XP to earn a Champion Point.

Constellations and Stars

Champion Points are spent in three Constellations – The Warrior, The Thief and The Mage. You will earn CP in each Constellation separately, so your Points in each Constellation will be evenly spread out. In each Constellation there is three Star Signs and each of these contain 4 “on-going” passives and 4 “one-off” bonus passives.

The on-going passives are small bonuses which build up with more CP invested into them. The Points that you spend in these will have diminishing returns and every Point you spend will have less and less of an impact.

The one-off bonus passives are automatically applied to your character once you have spent enough Champion Points in that Star Sign. The first one-off passive is earned after you spend 10 Champion Points in any one Star Sign, the next when 30 Points are spent, the next when 75 Points are spent and finally when you spend 120 Points in one Star Sign you will unlock the final one-off passive bonus.

Take a look at the Champion System Guide for a further look at the Champion System.


Champion Passives


  • David
    Apr 7, 2016

    Ohhhh they’re passives. You can’t put more Points in them only the first 4… Well damn.

  • Neil
    Jul 13, 2016

    What’s the maximum number of points you can spend in an on-going passive?

  • Chris
    Sep 9, 2016

    I read on The Elder Scrolls Wikia that the passives at 10, 30, 75 and 120 on one character apply to all characters. Anyone confirm this?

    • idc
      Sep 28, 2016

      no but each character over level 50 can put their ( same amount ) of cp in whichever attributes they wish.

      so stam build player has 160 cp say put them in stam based slots. while 2nd character puts them in different attributes. all chararcters will have the same total number of champ points even new characters. but only lvl 50 can earn more.

    • Patrick
      Aug 1, 2017

      Hi did anyone confirm?


Leave a Comment


Log In
ESO Academy Facebook     ESO Academy Twitter